Alien Nation

Play on words with alienation by adding ‘alien’ objects in different places, locations and scenes that I have photographed.

So the idea for this series…… due to not being able to go out and photograph due to corona virus and having to self isolate…… I have gone through some of the images i have taken in the last year and a half in my travels from the UK, Europe and America as well around the South and Eastern suburbs of Melbourne.

The idea plays with the ‘pink elephant in the room’ this really obscure object which is unfamiliar and unknown to people which is just out in the middle of a populated world with people unaware. The objects are made in Cinema 4D. They symbolise and from my production give anxiety/mental illness a physical form. Giving a physical presence to an invisible illness through artistic interpretation

Cinema 4D

Before March 12th 2020 I have NEVER used this program before. I knew it existed but all the previous 3D training I had experience in was Autodesks Maya.

I came across a free 2 month subscription to a site called http://www.skillshare.com which offers tutorials and classes for a range of arts, crafts and activities. I also decided to do a 2 week trial of the program Cinema 4D. LOVE IT. Seems to me to be user friendly – it was familiar in some ways with maya but still has its differences.

I’ve watched (currently) 7-10 hours of how to use Cinema 4D and followed a tutorial by a 3D artist called ‘Patrick 4D’ how to make the metallic pink sculpture. https://www.skillshare.com/classes/Creating-Abstract-Flowing-Tendrils-Using-Zero-Plugins/370496158/projects?via=user-profile

The render time for a single still is CRAZY long. for the image below of the pink object it took 26 minutes to render out.

There is a program which cuts render time down to a matter of seconds ‘Octane’ but the product doesn’t work with the current Mac software I have. I have emailed the company who made it and apparently in a couple of months an updated version will be compatible.

^ Need to put in shadow, put curtains in windows, dull out blue in sky, add glass refraction in bubbles and deform the background behind the view, add more high light to metal tendrils, make highlights from sun hotter and goldene

^ having a bit of trouble trying to get the yellow spheres to sit how I want them…. I want more of a range in size scale and more random in where they appear…. this is what I’ve got currently and it urghhhhhhh taking forever to understand and find out HOW to get the look I want….. also shadow needs work.

6/04/20 – *INCOMING WINGE my free trial for the program (Cinema 4D) ends in 2 days ….. I don’t have the money to buy a subscription at the moment with the corona virus thing happening and not having any work or centerlink going through…. This is concerning …. I might try to see if I can create this in Maya…. but I don’t think I will get the result I’m hoping for…. once again…. what else can I do?……

POTENCIAL BACKGROUNDS FOR MORE:

Mixture of square, panoramas and portrait shaped backgrounds.

Maybe could have people in the photos being oblivious?



APRIL 8TH …. Just adding some more experiments to this exploration…
I’m struggling to get the right textures, lightings and settings for objects. Getting good explosures and creating the look of real textures is proving to be difficult

^ Tooth paste on parade!
the exposure and lighting isn’t great. Highlights are blowing out. Haven’t bothered with shadows yet… want to cast the illusion that objects are floating and that the last structure is diving into the ground.

^Working with HDRI lighting to convey real reflections on metals to match the scene. Trying to get a texture on the metal of brushed metal is difficult. Maybe the bars are also too thick.

^ In Cinema 4D I can control focal length. So giving the illusion of an object being small is something I want to work on. Here the colours and lack of dimension isn’t good enough for the quality I want.

working on making the metal darker and more intimidating…. like its not from earth

I think an in between the two would be better……

I made a HDRI lighting effect which was in a rain forrest and then amped up the contrast and lighting on the metal texture

This one is feeling more realistic. Still looking into adding texture tot the metal…. either a brushed or roughness to the texture. My trial of the program ends to today, Ill look into the texture another time.

Leave a comment